Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Why the @3&# is there no off switch

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by DBloke, Dec 13, 2006.

  1. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Do I have to keep pluging/unpluging my Wii
    is Nintendo geting paid from the ecletric company or soemthing
     
  2. Octogon

    Octogon 戦士王

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wii Friend Code: 1979-1154-7425-1363
    1979-1154-7425-1363
    What are you talking about?
     
  3. uttackle71

    uttackle71 Zombie Killer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wii Friend Code: 8872-9875-8015-7497
    8872-9875-8015-7497
    Wow when its in standby the only electricity it is using is one led lol thats like less than hearing aid battery. and it only really uses any electricity is when connect 24 is on and that is still very limited wow
     
  4. gmdan

    gmdan Ruler of the wii users!!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McAllen TX. (US)
    Wii Friend Code: 2498-0433-2151-1627
    2498-0433-2151-1627
    i didnt get it :lol:
     
  5. csiguy4u

    csiguy4u WiiMaster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    First off, if you go into the options and turn off connect24 then it turns the Wii all the way off when you power it down using the Wiimote.

    Second, are you such a cheap ass that you can't afford an extra $2/year on your electric bill?
     
  6. Sovieto

    Sovieto Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,585
    Likes Received:
    91
    i think its more of the idea of it
     
  7. ssbb_lover

    ssbb_lover Novocain Stain'd

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wii Friend Code: 1234-1234-1234-1234
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    I had a problem yesterday...i've been turning my Wii off manually for the past 3 - 4wks, but yesterday I tried doing it from the wiimote and it froze up the Wii screen. :shocked: The music was still playing, but the screen froze up...can any1 give me an idea of what happened?
     
  8. KyleForMe

    KyleForMe Don't believe his lies.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    IL, USA, Earth, Milky Way
    Wii Friend Code: 5710-8093-1849-3803
    5710-8093-1849-3803
    uh

    You could always just use a toggle switch that you manually switch off so no power reaches the Wii. Like the same idea as a surge protector, but a single version. I've considered it myself because the heat buildup of an idle Wii annoys me. (I've had bad luck with warranties in past)
     
  9. Poseidon

    Poseidon WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    Exactly what I was thinking!
     
  10. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe I'm not understanding this, but there is an off button on every Wii controller in the top left corner. You just have to hold it down for a couple of seconds to turn off the unit. Mine works fine.
     

Share This Page