Wii Internet Query

robinsky

WiiChat Member
Apr 2, 2007
Hello. I am a newbie to Wii and anyone who can help me with this query (which has probably been discussed a lot) I shall be extremely grateful for.

I want to connect my Wii to the Internet and so far I am finding that help is few and far between. A lot of what I have read states you need Windows XP on your computer. I don't have Windows XP. I have Windows ME. I have broadband connection with a BT Voyager 105 modem. My question is, is it possible for me to connect to the internet with my Wii without Windows XP and with the BT Voyager 105 modem? If so, how do I do it as I am seriously confused.

Your help is appreciated.

Robin

Hello and welcome to WiiChat, Robin. :)

The Wii out the box uses wireless internet. If you have your PC (it doesn't matter what OS it is) running through a wireless router, then your Wii should be able to detect it. The Voyager is your DSL modem, which needs to stay in the loop.

In other words:

-> = connects to

Wall->Voyager->Wireless Router->PC (then your Wii picks up the wireless signal)

A suggested Wireless Router if you don't have one or know what you're looking for:

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WRT54G-Wireless-G-Router/dp/B00007KDVI

(though you can get other brands cheaper)

Thanks for your help and for the warm welcome. The only thing about the Voyager modem is that it has a DSL and a USB port on the back of it and both ports are occupied. Is this going to be a problem or is the point of a wireless router to share Internet connections with more than one source? i.e., the pc and the wii? Sorry to sound stupid but I'm not very adept on wireless routers. Thanks. BTW, The Wii is excellent. I was actually looking at wireless routers today in the UK. I might go in and ask them what exactly I need for my wii and they can suggest to me what to do and failing that, get someone to come in and do it for me.
Robin