Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii S-video Cable

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Matt's_A_Bluebird, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    Hi I was just wondering, do the Wii S-video cables allow you to run the 480p. I have componant cable inputs on my T.V. But I want to save them incase I get a PS3 eventually. Thanks.
     
  2. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    S-Video is typically 480i .. there are some"specialty" s-video cables that can carry 480P signal, but I doubt they would make it for Wii.
     
  3. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    Ah right thanks.
     
  4. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    I honestly have never heard of an S-Video cable or specification that allowed for 480p. Everything I've seen is 480i. Where are these "specialty" cables you refer to?
     
  5. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Here is an example

    http://www.hdtvsupply.com/scateto48.html

    **btw I don't know if these cables work or not** but this seems to be a picky forum so I included that statement as to not be called out on it ;)
     
    #5 tumi, Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  6. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Doesn't the PS3 use HDMI?

    Also, I have my Xbox and Wii plugged into the same component ports. All you need is a £15 ($30) component splitter.
     
  7. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    PS3 has the option of going composite, component, or HDMI .. maybe his TV doesn't have and HDMI port

    That sounds like a good suggestion, my only concern (whether it has any basis or not I don't know) is how do the consoles react over time with having video signals "inputed" into their outputs. a "Y" splitter does not control the flow of signal. It just takes what it sees on one port and send it out the other two. so when you have your Xbox on it send the signal to the TV and your Wii, and visa-versa. And what happens to your TV if you mistakenly have both your consoles on at the same time?

    Just curious!
     
  8. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    It is a splitter with a switch, so there is no problem.

    It can be on one channel or the other, not both :yesnod:
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Well, isn't that curious. I'm inclined to think that it's a marketing gimmick. I don't believe any devices actually can send or receive 480p over s-video.

    If someone proves me wrong, though, I'm man enough to admit it. But as far as I can tell, the S-Video spec means 480i.
     
  10. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Is there a dip switch or something that determines which input to display or does like "port 1" have a higher preference than "port 2".
     
  11. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    My brother was using his PS3 with a composite cable and it looks terrible. He the bought a HDMI to VGA adapter and it looks amazing. He doesn't have an HDTV but it sure as hell looks like it is.
     
  12. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Nothing surprising about that. Just about anything is better than composite. Even S-video will show a huge improvement.

    So his TV has a VGA input? Not many do, but they do exist. If he's using a computer monitor with a VGA input, it could very well be HD. But he'd be better with a HDMI to DVI connector if he's using a computer monitor.

    HDMI is several generations better of a connection than composite, and although VGA converts the digital signal back to analog, you retain most of the color accuracy and all of the resolution.
     
  13. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    Can somebody send me a link to a U.K. Shop with these "Y" splitters becase they would be ideal lol.
     
  14. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    The monitor has to be HDCP certified for HDMI-2-DVI to work. If not he will just get the infamous "black" screen.

    For my nephews setup .. I had to go component out on the PS3 to the X2VGA2 box from Neoya and then VGA to his 24' widescreen monitor, then take the L/R audio and convert that to mini din and hooked that up to the computer speakers.

    http://www.x2vga.com/

    It worked pretty sweet .. and he can add another set of components in, like a Xbox or something ..

    **BTW** HDCP is some sort of copyright protection technology .. that prevents movies or any HD content from being displayed or sent non-licensed devices

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDCP
     
    #14 tumi, Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  15. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    It sounds like a good idea to get Wii componant cables then a HDMI to DVI converter if I get a PS3. My TV is a 19" LCD HD, it's an "LG M198WA" if anybody would care to do some research for me lol!
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Got lifeboat?

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    How exactly would Wii cables work on your PS3?
     
  17. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    I wouldn't expect them to...

    EDIT: What I mean is, ue up my component cable ports on Wii component cables. Then if I get a PS3 get a HDMI cable for that and a HDMI to DVI converter for connecting it to the T.V.
     
    #17 Matt's_A_Bluebird, Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  18. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    It'd be far cheaper to order it from America.

    Hooray for poor economics and low-value currency! :lol:
     
  19. tumi

    tumi WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Wii Friend Code: 6988-2365-1037-9846
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    I just looked up your TV and it is not HDCP certified so HDMI-2-DVI will not work.

    There is a device called HDFury (I dont know any one that has used it) that will disable HDCP. Take a look at it when and if you get the PS3

    http://www.hdfury.com/
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Matt's_A_Bluebird

    Matt's_A_Bluebird Proud Owner Of A Wii

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Wii Friend Code: 7591-7050-1749-1437
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    #20 Matt's_A_Bluebird, Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
480p over s-video
,
component to composite conversion cable nintendo certified
,
component to composite conversion cable.
,
nintendo certified component to composite conversion cable
,
wii 480p s-video
,
wii s video 480p
,
wii s video cable 480p
,

wii s-video 480p

,
wii s-video cable 480p
,
wii svideo 480p