Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii w/ monitor

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by ShivaSage, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. ShivaSage

    ShivaSage WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to get a widescreen LCD monitor to use for a 360 and a Wii. Is there any monitor that can satisfy both? I know I could hook up the 360 to the monitor using the 360 VGA cable, and there are ways to hook up the Wii (i.e. composite-to-VGA adapter). So what resolutions would I want the monitor to support? I read that using the 360 VGA cable unlocks a bunch of resolutions, so that wouldn't be a problem. But I would need 640x480 to be supported for the Wii, right (assuming I used composite-to-VGA)?

    Also, if I wanted to, say, play Zelda in widescreen 480p in all of its glory, then I would need to find a way to hook the component cables up to the monitor, and the monitor would need to support 848x480....right?
     
  2. Leche159TKE

    Leche159TKE Hero of....nothing.

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Wii Friend Code: 8518-9115-4993-5417
    8518-9115-4993-5417
    I know nothing of this stuff, but it looks like you already know better than any of us! Good luck!
     
  3. Jabroni

    Jabroni Wii In training

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ajax, Ontairo Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 8612-0446-9460-1293
    8612-0446-9460-1293
    I use the ATI TV wonder..It works great, the 360 uses the VGA cables andit's on input 2 on the LCD. I use the RCA cables from the Wii to connect to the ATI tv wonder which is connected to Input 2. Works like a charm...
     
  4. eje

    eje WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 6872-5416-0065-8497
    6872-5416-0065-8497
    i heard there is lag with those tv cards though
     
  5. Jabroni

    Jabroni Wii In training

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ajax, Ontairo Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 8612-0446-9460-1293
    8612-0446-9460-1293
    There is no lag dude...this would be a video connection and not an internet connection...Lag only happens when your internet connection is slow....
     
  6. Shaun

    Shaun WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi

    I have a slight variation on this thread in that i have a large LCD monitor with VGA and DVI connections. Is there something cheap and easy like a convertor to get from the standard WII connections to either of the above???
     
  7. eje

    eje WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 6872-5416-0065-8497
    6872-5416-0065-8497
    yeah, but tv cards tend to have lag, for whatever reason. atleast thats what nintendo told me when i emailed them
     
  8. Michael Hardman

    Michael Hardman WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex, United Kingdom
    Wii Friend Code: 4319-4628-5021-9858
    4319-4628-5021-9858
    I was thinking of doing the same but instead opted to blow £550 on a 32inch Toshiba LCD just this minute.
     
  9. eje

    eje WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 6872-5416-0065-8497
    6872-5416-0065-8497
    nope i havent heard of a successful story of getting a wii to work on an LCD monitor yet. believe me ive been trying everything so far, and ive been searching forums all over
     
  10. nizmoboy98

    nizmoboy98 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    ive tried my 360 on my norwood micro tv card one of the cheapest there is lol worked alryte with no lagg but i havent tried my wii
     
  11. wEaksaUce

    wEaksaUce Wii, spinning sword!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California USA
    Alot of TV/LCD Montiors have VGA/DVI/AV ports so you could set it up to that
     
  12. eje

    eje WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 6872-5416-0065-8497
    6872-5416-0065-8497
    but im telling you it doesnt work unless you have a monitor that can run at 480i, unless you can find a way to prove to me it does
     
  13. philmottin

    philmottin wiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil / SP
    Wii Friend Code: 0857-5075-4834-8155
    0857-5075-4834-8155
    right and wrong...

    you are right cuz its not a lag actually...

    not just because isn't a internet connection it means its not possible...
    in fact it happens and its called DELAY.
    LAG is just the internet slang for delay...

    long cables always have delays, even the electricity's cables...
     
  14. philmottin

    philmottin wiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil / SP
    Wii Friend Code: 0857-5075-4834-8155
    0857-5075-4834-8155
    sorry i didnt mean slang and yes TERM
     
  15. ShivaSage

    ShivaSage WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe there are converters for both composite-to-VGA and component-to-VGA (or at least component-to-something-to-VGA), so I think the problem is finding out if the monitor supports 480i or 480p, depending on which route you take...

    When I look at monitors online, I only get to see the native resolution. How would I find all of the supported resolutions?
     
  16. GoBBLeS

    GoBBLeS WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    well .. it's short for latency.. it's the same for internet connections and tv signals, but on tv u usually wont notice it, cuz..well u dont have anything to respond with, except when, in this case, u have a console hooked up to it..

    About tvcards; there are some that have a little lag. it's usually because it has some processing of the signal to do among other things..
     
  17. AllYourBaseAreBelongToWii

    AllYourBaseAreBelongToWii WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    try a Dell 2407WFP

    I use my Wii on a Dell 24" WS LCD (2407WFP) with no problems... It has VGA, DVI, Component, S-Video & Composite inputs. I use the component inputs for the Wii, DVI and VGA for my PCs and S-Video for a region free DVD player. It also does PnP for any of the sources.
     
  18. Toastercookie

    Toastercookie WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are so wrong :p TV capture cards for computer have lag because they have to encode the video somewhat and that takes time. This is fine for a TV, but in a case like video games when you're looking for instant feedback for most of your actions, it's quite noticable.

    I have a Dell 2007WFP. It's a widescreen LCD display and it has VGA, DVI, Svideo, and Composite inputs on the back of it. It's the best monitor I've ever owned. I can have my computers plugged in on the VGA / DVI inputs, and my wii plugged in on the composite input and they all work wonderfully. This would probably be your best bet, and dell also has 2 displays bigger than that (24 and 30 inch) with the same features.

    That would be my reccomendation to you, just keep in mind you need another way to get the audio to work (I have a stereo reciever and some speakers that my wii is plugged into)

    Also:
    Generally a monitor will support any resolution less than its native one. Just letting ya know.
     
    #18 Toastercookie, Feb 12, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2007
  19. Shaun

    Shaun WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, England
    OK i have solved my problem. I have purchased the 'Grand Video Console' made by 'Grandtec'.

    It is a video convertor for high resolution video picture. Has a composite, s-video and VGA inputs with a VGA out. This will allow you to connect you computer in line so you don't have to keep unplugging your monitir everytime you want to use it for the Wii or PC.

    It also has a sound input and output but when i wrote this i still have to unplug the speakers from the computer and plug into the GV Console.

    Works like a dream. can't comment fully on the picture quality as i have only used it on a CRT monitor so far (8 year old monitor). But so far the picture quality and sound is more than good enough.

    This Grand Video Console is available from a few placed U.S. but only place i found it in the UK was via Amazon.co.uk or direct to the same company, but was cheaper via Amazon - £45.00
     
  20. ShivaSage

    ShivaSage WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input...

    How does your Wii appear on the LCD? Since you're using composite cables, is the picture stretched to fit the screen, or what?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best display for wii
,

best monitor for wii

,
best monitor for wii console
,
best monitor for wii u
,

connect wii to dell monitor

,
good monitor for wii
,
good wii monitor
,
nintendo wii monitor
,
wii monitor connections
,
wii to monitor