Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wiikey installed, no 480p in game

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Ashex, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I got the wiikey chip installed yesterday by a professional guy.
    I tried playing trauma center, it works fine with the composite cable, but when I use my component cable, the resolution is garbled ingame. The menu loads fine in 480p but as soon as the game starts, it tweaks out.

    Anyone else experienced this and have a solution? I'm not sure whether this is the wiikey, or just the TV spazzin' on me.
     
  2. Almo

    Almo WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    43
    Wii Friend Code: 8407-4245-3370-0256
    8407-4245-3370-0256
    nt sure but im sure your gonna have worse problems in the futre with a chiped Wii, you know with ninty coming out with the updates and all
     
  3. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Thanks for the help :wtf:

    The chances of Nintendo detecting a mod chip are much slimmer then with the Xbox mods. All the wiikey does is translate the data from the disc so that it appears as an official disc. Nintendo would have to watch the data stream of the wii to pick up on this, and that would be done remotely, and I'm doubtful they have the tools to do that plus I would notice the slowdown.
     
  4. Nemix

    Nemix Frost-bitten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    2
    Were there any guarantee with your installtion being done prefessionally and all. I'm pretty sure you can just bring back to the person who did it and have them test it for you...
     
  5. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    the guy did it in front of me and we tested it out with super paper mario. The Wiikey works as it should. My question was whether other people have experienced an issue with getting the games to run in 480p.
    I'm able to play Trauma Center in composite.
     
  6. Nemix

    Nemix Frost-bitten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tested out as in, it works. Or tested out as in, it works in progressive scan? Either way, you already paid the guy... Call him up or bring back?
     
    #6 Nemix, Jun 2, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  7. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Ah, gotcha. I believe it was just with composite. I'll send him an email about it. A friend of mine who got his done with the same guy said he is able to use progressive with his games. So it may just be the game. I'll send the guy an email though.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

why is ther no480p on wii u