Should I Buy a Wii or Wait for the Wii U?

Bleu

WiiChat Member
Feb 11, 2012
Hi Everyone,

I'm thinking about buying a Wii, but I am aware that the Wii is reaching the end of it's life cycle. If you were in my shoes would you still buy a Wii or wait for the Wii U? I'm new to video "gaming" so I don't know much about games or their consoles. I was given recently a Playstation 3 and while looking around for games I found some Wii games that I'd really like to play. I went ahead and bought them off eBay. It may seem like a stupid thing to do as I don't own a Wii (yet) but I got The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, Ōkami and Monster Hunter Tri for £12 (I thought this was a good price).

I can't really justify buying a Wii for three games could you please recommend some Wii games similar to these? I Also quite like the Final Fantasy games on the Playstation how do the Wii FF games compare? I know the gameplay is quite different for obvious reasons.

Finally I can't decided if I do buy a Wii if I should buy the "orginal" (vertical) Wii or the newer horizontal Wii. I know that the newer horizontal Wii cannont play Gamecube games but as I don't have any Gamecube games this isn't really an issue. Is rather any reason to favour one version other than backwards compatablieity?

I apologise if I have posted this in the wrong section of the forum and thank you for reading. :smile5:

Bleu

If you do not care about having the more advanced looking graphics and won't take gaming too seriously, go ahead and buy the Wii. The type of Wii doesn't matter since you don't have any gamecube games.

Only three games, but all three grand none the less. Good choices. :thumbsup:

If ya end up enjoying Twilight Princess (doubtful you wouldn't!), Zelda: Skyward Sword should definitely be on your to-buy list.