The Wii's "poor graphics"

BrentNewhall

WiiChat Member
May 4, 2007
Wii Online Code
1678-4857-1511-1727
On a thread about Godzilla: Unleashed, there was a debate about why the Wii doesn't have as good graphics as other consoles but some games have lovely lighting effects, etc. As a hobby game developer, I wanted to shed some light on this.

(Disclaimers: I've never written a game for consoles. This is all just my opinion. I could be wrong.)

At the lowest level, every console is a computer. Every computer is theoretically capable of the same things; it's just a matter of how long it will take to do it, and what specific hardware is used for input (mice, keyboards, etc.) and output (graphics, sound, etc.).

So, within a given console or computer you have basically three kinds of hardware that determine graphics:

• The processor itself (faster is better)
  • Memory (more is better)
  • Additional hardware like math processors and graphics accelerators, which make certain operations quicker
An X-Box 360 probably has more graphics accelerators than a Wii. However, this will only affect certain kinds of graphics.

Textures are textures. They're just flat images. If one game has better textures than another, it's not the hardware's fault; it's because one developer spent more time or money or talent creating better textures.

I agree that Wii games seem to have excellent lighting effects. If the Wii is graphically underpowered, that's strange, because lighting effects require a lot of processor power. This suggests that the Wii isn't as underpowered as people think.

So, the Wii is capable of quite a lot graphically. I think it's up to developers to fully harness the graphical capabilities of the Wii.

(Which is certainly a challenge; game development is hard, and learning a new console is even harder. Developers have it tough, and it'll take them a while to figure out how to use the Wii's graphics best.)