Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Won't work on certain TVs!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by StevoP, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. StevoP

    StevoP WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I just bought my Wii yesterday, and I first played it at a friends house on a slightly older TV.

    Anyway, I take it home, and plug it into my LCD tv screen, and I'm getting nothing but blue AV screen when I try run it. I plug it into another one of our TVs, but I'm getting the same thing! It's not picking up anything on either TV.

    But when I take it to our 3rd TV, which is slightly more budget than the other two, everything seems to work fine.

    Is there some kind of setting I need to change to make it work on the other TVs?
     
  2. ddocf

    ddocf WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I've just purchased my Wii, and at the minute it seems to be working fine with my projection TV. However, at the end of the month I'm going to go and buy a 42" Samsung LCD jobbie so it would be nice to know if the console has problems running on certain TVs!
     
  3. martin8768

    martin8768 Wii Would Like To Play

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 8015-3833-0791-9078
    8015-3833-0791-9078
    i think ur video cable is probably not inserted properly
     
  4. StevoP

    StevoP WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone must have an answer!

    Does the Wii automatically detect and implement TV settings on the first time of it's use? What I'm saying is could the settings be saved to my friends type of TV, and not mine?

    The cable is definately inserted properly. I'm doing the exact same thing on all 3 TVs, yet it only works on 1.
     
  5. Bigsam4

    Bigsam4 Gamer4Life

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    DC
    Wii Friend Code: 0277-6706-2233-3610
    0277-6706-2233-3610
    Some tv's won't may not display the resolution of the wii. A lot of Higher end tv' only go as low as 720i. The wii is way down at 480i. Look at whether or not your tv will display that resolution.
     
  6. StevoP

    StevoP WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If that is the case, what can I do to fix it?
     
  7. Yuu

    Yuu WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    do you have a VCR or something? try connecting your wii to that, then the vcr to your old tv.
     
  8. dossaer

    dossaer Junior Burger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Practically all TV's (anything that can receive/display an analog TV broadcast signal) will display an interlaced picture at 480.

    A common problem is that people who have TVs with multiple inputs set up a device and set it to a channel, say 'AV' but don't realise that the device may be on AV2 or AV3.

    I have a 26" LCD TV that has 3av inputs, 2 component inputs, an analog TV aerial, a DVI input and a separate serial VGA input. I thought my dvd player wasn't working once until I realised I had two component channels.
     
  9. COLDshiver

    COLDshiver Wii Owner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    America
    Wii Friend Code: 4532-8683-6668-7765
    4532-8683-6668-7765
    Read the TV manual :D Make sure you are in the right Input, and also have the colored cables in the right spot :)
     
  10. StevoP

    StevoP WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have definately checked the correct inputs, and every possible thing it could be, but I'm still not getting any picture!
     
  11. martin8768

    martin8768 Wii Would Like To Play

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 8015-3833-0791-9078
    8015-3833-0791-9078
    if that was the case a Tv with only minimum 720i then the TV and the Wii wil drop in stardard def.
     
  12. blanchedevereaux

    blanchedevereaux Southern Belle

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Wii outputs the same signal no matter what monitor it hooks up to. It doesn't "sense" anything about the TV through a video cable, LMAO (technologically impossible).

    It sounds like you are plugging a set of composite cables into the wrong ports of a TV with component inputs if it only works on "old" TV's. Component delivers the video over three cables instead of compositing them into one.

    Whatever the problem may be, unless your Wii specifically is defective, the issue is on your end. The Wii outputs composite video (or component, if you have the proper cables) just like any other device, it doesn't discriminate.

    B.E.D.
     
  13. bobby1211

    bobby1211 R.I.P. Digii

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Magical Land Of Cubicles
    Wii Friend Code: 6278-1240-3243-3822
    6278-1240-3243-3822
    Test the TV... Plug something else into the same jacks you are the Wii... if that works, there ya go, Wii is the problem.

    -Bobby
     
  14. martin8768

    martin8768 Wii Would Like To Play

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 8015-3833-0791-9078
    8015-3833-0791-9078
    Comonent
    Composite
    maybe that will help u figure out which is which because u probably put the component cables with only one in the right spot and 2 in the stereo audio port lol. try again, they could be color coded.
     
  15. ZJ74

    ZJ74 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same deal

    I was getting the same results as the other user, blue screen.

    Turned out I had a bad piece of coax between the VCR and the TV.

    You might also make sure you don't have the 3 Y/R/W cable plugged into "Output" on your VCR rather than "Input", I had heard of some other users that had the blue screen problem, and that was the cause.

    This link helped me go thru a complete setup check...

    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/wii/en_na/setupAV.jsp

    Good luck!
     
    #15 ZJ74, Dec 28, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2006
  16. NecroDemonNZXT

    NecroDemonNZXT WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    somwthing a bit dumb, if u connected the wii to any TV-side inputs, you must use the correct channel(labeled SIDE in my philips TV), and not in the standard av channel
     
  17. Justinyoung

    Justinyoung WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    you may have connected an NTSC to a PAL device, or vice versa- i'm not too sure
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
my wii u wont work on my sansui tv
,

my wii u wont work on my tv

,
why doesnt my wii work with my new hdtv
,
why wont my new hd tv work on my wii
,
why wont my tv work with wiiu
,
why wont the sound work on my tv when using a wii u
,
wii u not working on sansui tv
,
wii u wont work on my hd tv
,
wii wont work on sansui tv
,

wii wont work on tv