Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Help needed desperatly

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by LARulz, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep getting error message 52031 (can't find the IP) can someone please help me sort this out.
     
  2. zachp18

    zachp18 me two game systems below

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    The land of 10,000 lakes
    Wii Friend Code: 6651-9695-6213-2367
    6651-9695-6213-2367
    try changing the channel of your router to 1 or 11. that's what helped out my wii online problem.:thumbsup:
     
  3. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    too little information.

    how are you attempting to get the Wii online?

    wired? wireless? USB wifi dongle?
    router? ICS?

    before anyone can offer any real assistance, you would be wise to
    let us know your set-up.
     
  4. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    changed it from 6 to 1 and 11 but still no luck unfortunately
     
  5. zachp18

    zachp18 me two game systems below

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    The land of 10,000 lakes
    Wii Friend Code: 6651-9695-6213-2367
    6651-9695-6213-2367
    bummer....
     
  6. captainff

    captainff slightly amused

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    21
    Wii Friend Code: 5537-0855-7535-2075
    5537-0855-7535-2075
  7. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it is a USB wifi dongle, cos it say's: Zydass WIFI dongle detected on the PC

    OK firstly, I bought a WiFiMAX. My internet connection is not wireless, so after installing everything, I use the Wii to find it by "Search for an Access Point" it then finds the usb connection, so I then save the settings and does a test again which is where the error occurs.
     
    #7 LARulz, Jun 6, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2007
  8. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    any ideas anyone?
     
  9. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    have you tried giving the Wii a "static" IP address?

    find out what the IP of the wifi dongle is:-
    (on the pc) click start>run then type cmd then press enter to access the command prompt. at the prompt type ipconfig /all to see the IP / Default Gateway and DNS values.

    the wifi IP will look (probably) like this 192.168.0.1

    on the Wii, when you find the access point, instead of letting it obtain
    the settings automatically, enter them manually. give the Wii an IP address
    of 192.168.0.2, with subnet value 255.255.255.0

    the default gateway (default router) address should be 192.168.0.1

    try that to see if it works.

    also, if you're using a third party firewall like zone alarm, lower the LAN side
    security to medium.
     
  10. Byuakuya

    Byuakuya Bleach & Heroes fan.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Soul Society
  11. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunately no to both :( thanks for trying tho, any other ideas?
     
  12. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's ok, I finally got it to work :smilewinkgrin:

    I just had click on the share box of my internet connection :cool:

    Thankyou to everyone who tried to help
     
  13. billcsho

    billcsho WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    Do you have other equipment to check for ICS setting? Check the firewall setting on your PC, check the IP address of the dongle, check the encryption method (inactivate it first), bring your Wii closer, etc.
    My last use of ICS was with a BT dongle for my PDA to access the net thru a PC. On your computer, check the Network Connections of your USB dongle under Control Panel. Click on the Advanced tab. Check the Internet Sharing box and choose the Home network connection which your computer is connected to the internet in the pull down list.



    Update: Hey you get the answer while I am typing all these.
     
  14. Byuakuya

    Byuakuya Bleach & Heroes fan.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Soul Society
    I am glad it is sorted.
     
  15. LARulz

    LARulz WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I feel really stupid now considering how simple the solution was, lol. The funny thing is I spent 4 hours on it, what a waste.

    Yep billcsho that's exactly what I needed to do but thanks anyway
     

Share This Page