Hmmmm, am i wrong?

smilinmonki666

WiiChat Member
Feb 26, 2007
I've been using that software available from orb.com and using mycast.orb.com via my Nintendo Wii. Its very good, don't get me wrong, especially once the bandwidth has improved and quality has improved, but, now this is where I'm a newbie!!

If you created an intranet at home, and add music & video plugins available on the Wii would that not be at a higher quality and faster speeds, I mean, you can access your router via the Wii so what about an intranet.

My reasoning is that its going to be a while for software to become available like media center and it looks like Nintendo are not creating a media streaming channel? And orb is fantastic but slow & compressed, what we need is something just like orb.com, but on your local server/ PC whereby it can grab all your media files.

I've decided this is going to be a slow project due being very busy, but any help or suggestions are very much welcome. I'm going to start a project using Mambo (I think?). If anyone can help or you have suggestion, email me at:
[email protected]

The Wii is not the best option for film playback as its limited on memory and CPU power.

A cheap progressive scan DVD player that supports re-writables is a much better option. If you have the content on your computer why not use that?

Red Kawa the person who developed Wii Video 9 converter has developed this

http://www.redkawa.com/mediacenters/wiimediacenterx/

Its not the fact that I havent got a DVD player, its just a project I would like to have a go at. If it is possible to use the Wii as a media extender then it would mean a cheap extender for a room, IE kitchen/ Bedroom and so forth and also, no need for a load of ugly boxes under or around the TV. It would then also double up as a games machine and internet portal, thus no media (ie: CD's/ DVD's) getting damaged in any way.