Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wi-Fi Adapter + Dial up?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by 261311, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. 261311

    261311 The Man on Ice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, so I haven't been successful in my search through these forums so could anyone give me a definite answer to the wi-fi adapter working with dial up? I need my online back and I don't give two about its speed :(
     
  2. smyth

    smyth Asstnt to the Rgnl Mngr

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    Wii Friend Code: 3517-9799-4262-2418
    3517-9799-4262-2418
    so you're the ONE still using dial up. :lol:
    just kidding. the lan adaptor won't work because it's fitted for an ethernet cable. Are you talking about the usb dongle? that may work but i've heard some bad things about them anyway. You're best bet would probably be to pick up a wireless router and connect through that. Kind of pricy though spending at least $50 to get the wii online. maybe just try the dongle and see how it does, then if it does work you've only spent $20, and if it doesn't you might have a chance of returning it.
    hope that helps.

    kyle


    p.s.- i don't have experience with dial-up so i'm not 100% sure if the dongle will work, but i don't see why it wouldn't it just takes the connection from your computer and transmits it as a wi-fi signal, it doesn't know what's plugged into the modem though.
     
    #2 smyth, Jan 31, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2008
  3. FRuMMaGe

    FRuMMaGe Waluigi's #1 Fan!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Wii Friend Code: 2482-6460-3144-9934
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    You could probably send emails, but there is no way you could connect to the shop channel or play games unfortunately.
     
  4. hal2814

    hal2814 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've got a computer in the basement set up to handle a dial up internet connection for my router in the event my broadband goes out. It's connected to a regular port on my router. It's running Linux but I've done the same thing before with a Windows box and the Internet Connection Sharing wizard. When there's a broadband outage, I fire up the basement computer and disconnect the DSL modem from the router. I haven't used it specifically for the Wii yet as I haven't had an outage since then but it's handled all my other wireless devices just fine. I know that's not a definite answer but I'd be willing to bet large sums of money it would work in your situation.
     
  5. 261311

    261311 The Man on Ice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    I have no clue what a dongle is, and it sounds dirty so don't tell me. For your information, Brawny has Dialup as well.

    Thanks for the easy, straight forward answer Frummage.

    The topic can be locked now, thanks for the replies.
     
  6. smyth

    smyth Asstnt to the Rgnl Mngr

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    Wii Friend Code: 3517-9799-4262-2418
    3517-9799-4262-2418

    haha, its a little plastic do-dad that looks kind of like a flash drive, but you plug it into a usb slot and it emits a Wi-Fi signal.

    and i was just joking about the dial-up thing, i know people still have it and in some areas broadband is either impossible to get or close... or still insanely expensive.

    let us know how everything works out.
     
  7. 261311

    261311 The Man on Ice

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    Haha, that's the thing though. The city I live in (Mississauga) is next to one of the business capitals of Canada (Toronto) and broadband is not expensive (in fact my Aunt pays $10 a month extra for this crap compared to Rogers Highspeed Lite - Don't ask why, I don't know).

    I'll probably get it once I have some real disposable income, can't warrant wasting cash on something that won't give me full access.
     
  8. smyth

    smyth Asstnt to the Rgnl Mngr

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    Wii Friend Code: 3517-9799-4262-2418
    3517-9799-4262-2418

    i gotcha. around here comcast does a deal for phone/internet and cable, so it's actually cheaper for broadband with that deal then it would be to get them separate with dial-up.:cool:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adapt wi-fi dialup
,
can dial up give wifi
,
can dial up internet give wifi?
,
dial up internet adapters
,

dial up to wifi converter

,
does the wii adapter work with dial up
,

mario persona

,

usb adapter for sharing dial up as wifi

,
using a wifi adapter with dial-up
,
wifi signal for dial up