Disc keeps spinning continously ingame is this a Problem?

Uchuu

WiiChat Member
Dec 9, 2011
Hello,

I have a question.
As I am new to consoles wich use DVD´s, I don´t know if the behaviour of my Wii is good.

In Zelda if I am close to waterregions or some dungeonrooms, the cd often tends to keep spinning all the time. I think normaly it should load some things and stop spinning.
Only if I go to the save menu and then back, the spinning stops. If I entered a region where the cd starts with the spinning and dont enter a new room it happens to spin all the time through, like 10 minutes without loading anything new, because all has been loaded already to the existing region.

Also the Game disc and my other game discs have some concentric circles on the edges, they are not scratches, but colorful and only visible if I look at it under a light bulb.

Is this normal for Wii games?
It never happens to me in Wii sports.

I searched around and found different answers:

1 gently use windex on the discs

2 stop leaving discs in the wii when not in use

3 send to nintendo for repairs (if under warranty) or a local shop that repairs wiis

4 buy a used wii as replacement, they are getting cheap!

5 repair it yourself (use google and see if you trust yourself enough to do it)

hope that helps :)

Thank you for your help, I just recently purchased it so I think I can give it to repairs for sure.

So it seems it is a faulty behavior of the Wii wich u have never encountered?

Depending on the game, it may be reading data frequently from the disc. Not everything can fit in memory at once.

And as long as your discs don't have scratches, then whatever you are seeing is from the manufacturing process and is most likely not a problem, especially if you see it on other discs too.

It doesn't sound like you have anything to repair to me.

Depending on the game, it may be reading data frequently from the disc. Not everything can fit in memory at once.