Guitar

Foxy

Super Ninjarator
Apr 4, 2007
Wii Online Code
3881-9484-9041-5848
Basically I have £200 and I need a guitar and amp, spent a few weeks playing acoustic 4 years ago, haven't touched since. Complete beginner but still want a good guitar and amp. UK please, I'll even swing ebay. But if possible please swing by www.bandland.co.uk as they are easy for me to buy from.

Thanks!

This Behringer practice amp is a good price with good features. It would provide many more sound options than any comparable practice amp through it's amp and speaker modelling and 3 gain options. Most practice amps only offer a clean channel and a distortion channel with a 3 band eq.

http://www.bandland.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=74_75&products_id=1891

As for a guitar, I think your best bet would be one of the Fender Squier Affinity Stratocasters:

http://www.bandland.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=31_50&products_id=924

or the Yamaha Pacifica:

http://www.bandland.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=31_50&products_id=485

129 or 149 for the guitar and 39 for the amp, that puts you at 168 or 188 before taxes.

Myself, I would pick the Yamaha since it has a humbucker and the Squier doesn't (the humbucker can provide deeper tones than the single coils), but that's personal choice.

Unfortunately, for your price range you're most likely not going to get a very powerful amp, and 15 watts won't cut it if you plan to play with a drummer, but it is decent for practicing and learning. You also want to buy a practical, well known brand guitar (hence why I picked out the Fender and Yamaha over the other similar designed guitars). Even though they are cheap, the build quality and playability will be much better than similar designs by lesser known and less expensive brands.

Last edited:
I'm all for that practise amp, I only need something with decent sound quality for me to play with.