Question about Wiikey and mochips compatibility

mabhz

WiiChat Member
Apr 8, 2007
Couple of weeks ago I finally purchased my Wii (still to be delivered), and I would like to know if the current modchips avaliable today, specially Wiikey (which seems to be the best one), are compatible with the Wii models currently being sold, like the one I just purchased.

Im asking this because I have extensive experience with PS2, and Sony changed the motherboard very often, so modchips would be incompatible with new consoles available very often.

Do I need to wait for my Wii to arrive and open it to check for compatibility or I can order safely a modchip online today??

By the way, whats the best online store to order this kind of stuff??

THANKS for any input!

I think it will work perfectly fine. I've read post's on this site saying there Wiikey is fine but some have complety ruined the Wii, Like it won't work anymore. Just search Wiikey on google for a site.

rep me if helpfull

yep, right now the WiiKey is the most popular one (80% of Wii sold in Taiwan are moded with WiiKey), easy to solder on, and upgradable. I have a funny suspicion that the March Wii delay was to do with a new revision of the motherboard (let's wait and see), possibly with BGA (ball grid array packaging) chipset, which less solder points visible to to the hackers.

EDIT: I was going to give you the WiiKey website URL for you to check for compatibility

http://www.wiikey.cn/

However, just a few seconds ago, IT WAS SHUT DOWN! Nintendo lawyers are tracking them down!

Last edited:
I've read in other foruns, after I posted the same question, that Wiikey support is not 100% OK, that its bricking a lot of Wiis, and some functionalities are not working at all. Whats the truth about that??

Should i avoid Wiikey them???

Please, i need some advice....

Avoid the WiiKey because the developers have screwed their customers.