Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Will the wii remote work on old games

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Gaming' started by wolf231, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    I was just wondering will the wii remote work on old games cause it would be pretty good if it did.
     
  2. King Wiired

    King Wiired HITLER ME JEZ

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom Status : Stunnin'
    Wii Friend Code: 8756-4872-6334-8478
    8756-4872-6334-8478
    What do u mean by 'old games' ? like VC?
     
  3. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    No game cube.
     
  4. Jaz

    Jaz Nintendo Wii and Mario

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK!
    No, as they obviously weren't programmed for the Wii :)
     
  5. King Wiired

    King Wiired HITLER ME JEZ

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom Status : Stunnin'
    Wii Friend Code: 8756-4872-6334-8478
    8756-4872-6334-8478
    Agreed with Jaz :) also thread been done before homie
     
  6. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah but it would be good if it did.
     
  7. Jaz

    Jaz Nintendo Wii and Mario

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK!
    Yeah, but the Wiimote wouldn't do anything in the game :)
     
  8. RPGMasterTurk91

    RPGMasterTurk91 Turkish RPG Master

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Somewhere in New Jersey
    yea jaz is right, infact--the GC doesnt even have the right/same ports as the Wiimote ports, i thought there were seperate ones
     
  9. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Maybe you get an adaptor so it plugs in the Wii controller ports and you plug in the GC controller there.
     
  10. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    the wii has 4 controller ports and they are all GC controller ports. idk what you guys are talking about with wii controller ports because why would a WIRELESS controller need a port? the GC controller ports are under a flap on the top of the system
     
  11. Kherrek508

    Kherrek508 Sleeping. Do not disturb.

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Wii Friend Code: 0215-4972-1267-8022
    0215-4972-1267-8022
    It isn't hardware, it is software. The gamecube games weren't designed for the Wiimote.
     
  12. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    This is hardware, a controller is hardware, Duh :crazy:
     
  13. Jaz

    Jaz Nintendo Wii and Mario

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK!
    Dude - lets just end this, the Wii wont work on a GC game, as it wasn't programmed to do so.

    Thank you.
     
  14. Flip

    Flip WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 6487-0727-1500-1514
    6487-0727-1500-1514
    Out of curiosity, what wouldn't work about it? Aside from the obvious, that the motion sensor and tracking wont work, the wireless should still work. And since the wiimote+nunchuk have both analog stick, and all the required buttons (?) they should still work for any game.

    Just curious.
     
  15. wolf231

    wolf231 Aka The_Toilet_of_Doom :P

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Good point, flip.
     
  16. K.K. Slider

    K.K. Slider WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    if you turn the wiimote to the side it looks like a old type of nes contoller they did this on purpose to be used for games like on the nes. you can get a normal controller for the wii what looks like a normal one but you can also use the controller like i mention on the wiimote.
     
  17. ghghgh14702

    ghghgh14702 Hero of Time

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    technically the Wii-mote could almost work as gamecube, different shape may effect some button combos though but for comparision
    Wii GC
    analog stick analog stick
    d-pad d-pad
    Z trigger Z trigger
    a,b buttons a,b buttons
    1,2 button x,y button
    -,+ l,r
    missing c analog stick
    c button missing
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does new wii remote work with old games

,

does the wii remote work for old games

,

will wii old remote work

,

will wii remote plus work in old games