Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wii Wires

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by King Wiired, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. King Wiired

    King Wiired HITLER ME JEZ

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom Status : Stunnin'
    Wii Friend Code: 8756-4872-6334-8478
    8756-4872-6334-8478
    Right basically I wanna know this...

    I know with consoles u have the wires that u plug ur console in with, n 1 type is in which u have 3 different coloured wires, I think its like 1 red.. 1 white.. and 1 yellow.

    However, some of you, like I do, plug the console in directly with one wire in the back of the television.

    Though u probably don't have a clue... what type of wires do you recon will be used with the Wii? And if only the 3 coloured ones are available, do u think the type I want will be too?

    Thanks :crazy:
     
  2. in touch with the wii

    in touch with the wii prez , you suck :p

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,933
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the moon
    Wii Friend Code: 5767-9309-0719-3080
    5767-9309-0719-3080
    theres ones that connect it to the montor of a computer might be a one that connect the wii a computer for internet done
     
  3. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    I think supposedly, the Wii will be able to output "Component (including Progressive scan), S-Video, or composite output".

    Component is the Red blue and green wires that can sometimes go into your TV. Here's an image of it: [​IMG]

    S-Video is the one that has connectors like this: [​IMG]

    Composite is the Red White and Yellow wires that can sometimes go into your TV or into a SCART adpator into the TV. [​IMG]

    EDIT: Soz for the mix up, I've just corrected my post and provided pictures. I'm not entirely sure if the Wii will handle RF connectors, as they are pretty outdated, and usually require the specific port (which was axed by on the Gamecube in favour of Composite). Still, fingers crossed for RF functionality too.
    I think almost every TV in existence has at least one of these options, so I think we're fine on that score.
     
    #3 Squall7, Sep 23, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2006
  4. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    i think he is talking about the RF connector. the one that plugs into the cable part of the TV. it looks like this:
    [​IMG]

    dont worrie. the system will come with the a/v cables (the red, white, and yellow ones) but im 100% sure you can buy a RF connector for like $20 or less for the wii
     
  5. soulchief

    soulchief WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    what is that thing? lol i havnt seen a system with that since the original nintendo.
     
  6. MetroidZ

    MetroidZ Only took 4 years to get1

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London, England Rank: i-wii-sistable
    Wii Friend Code: 1000-0000-0000-0000
    1000-0000-0000-0000
    i always use the 3 couloured wires (thats how my GC is)
     
  7. Jenksie

    Jenksie Wii pre-order hopeful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Depends what else i've got plugged into my tv as to what i use, my GC always used composite cos it was my portable console. Wii will be a permanent fixture so if its composite only i'll stick on a scart adapter.
     
  8. soulchief

    soulchief WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    um, all systems use those 3 wires (unless you have the hd wires).
     
  9. soulchief

    soulchief WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    ive got a switcher thing, i can have 5 systems plugged into the little black box and then just select which system i want to play. (press a button on the box)
     
  10. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    Ye, the multi-SCART box. I've got a simpler version, only I don't have more than one SCART in at a time, cos it interferes with the signal (believe it or not), thus rendering it useless.[​IMG]

    I'd imagine these would work better:[​IMG]

    Although saying that, I'd love to get one of these:[​IMG]
    A wireless SCART adaptor.

    Ye, ye, I know I'm a geek! :ciappa: :prrr:
     
  11. Jenksie

    Jenksie Wii pre-order hopeful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    I use a switchable (one with buttons) SCART hub, it works absolutely fine no interference at all. I did use a non switching one and i had loads of problems.
     
  12. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Its for really old TV's that don't have any ports except the RF (where your antenna goes in) so it converts the signal into RF.
     
  13. King Wiired

    King Wiired HITLER ME JEZ

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom Status : Stunnin'
    Wii Friend Code: 8756-4872-6334-8478
    8756-4872-6334-8478
    Back.. and the one i use looks something like this (which I think is S-Video)

    [​IMG]

    Also thanks a bunch squall for explainin em to me :)
     
  14. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    I'm happy to help! :cool: What else is a community for? Lol.
     
  15. registerednerd

    registerednerd Wii online moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    SCART.... you make me feel like such a yankee. We don't use SCART here in the US. Nothing is completely standardized like that, unfortunately.
     
  16. Arcadium

    Arcadium Not Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Colombia
    Wii Friend Code: 6980-3796-3948-8393
    6980-3796-3948-8393
    Hey dude, the wii can't be played on a computer monitor :D
     
  17. Wii Want Wii!

    Wii Want Wii! We have got it

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hemet,CA
    Wii Friend Code: 1552-4343-3050-4813
    1552-4343-3050-4813
    I have an RF Modulator for my Gamecube and SNES. Works great.
     
  18. Link_of_Hyrule

    Link_of_Hyrule Unofficial WiiChat Helper

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    Wii Friend Code: 7114-5214-3386-2022
    7114-5214-3386-2022
    the n64 rf modulator is same for GC and N64 :) but it makes stuff look crappy so i stick with a/v cables if possible s-video RF is only if you have a TV with out A/V ports
     
  19. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,425
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    (Didnt I make ta topic about this)

    Ive had the same scart lead for years and used it on the snes/n64/gc
     
  20. King Wiired

    King Wiired HITLER ME JEZ

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom Status : Stunnin'
    Wii Friend Code: 8756-4872-6334-8478
    8756-4872-6334-8478
    Weeell the TV im using it on is old (not allowed to have it in living room, and bedroom TV to small for my liking :)) so I have to use S-Video.. fingers crossed :D
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can the nintendo 64 use the same wii wires
,
how not to have wires from ps3 and wii to tv a box with just one wire
,
how to connect back of wii wires
,
picture of wii wires
,
rf modulator wii on pc monitor
,
using wii wires for nintendo 64
,
where do wires go for wii on tv
,

wii wires

,
wii wires composite lag
,
wii wires tv