Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Wiikey fitted by total novice, wish me luck

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Chat' started by spongmonkey, May 11, 2007.

1. spongmonkey

spongmonkey IT Geek

Hi all, i'm a new posted but have been lurking a researching for a while. I got my Wii just before Xmas and recently started to look into the Wiikey. Well i took the plunge and bought one, and all the soldering gear (I didn't know how to solder!)

Anyway, I've had 1.5 hrs practicing my soldering skills on really small contacts, well what I though were really small, and then I took my Wii apart and nearly died! Anyway I persevered and and fitted the chip just 10 minutes ago! I turned it on and it still plays my original Wiisports so that's a good sign, i'm burning the Wiikey setup disk to test the chip now :D

2. Half Empty

Half Empty CHAD SMITH IS KING!

Wii Friend Code: 7404-0035-3816-1331
    7404-0035-3816-1331
    I wish you luck, and I hope they don't make an update restricting mods.

3. adf3424sdff

adf3424sdff Guest

I think I am going to keep my wii mod-free. I dont want nintendo releasing an update that blocks the chip, I dont want to void the warranty and I dont want to risk my wii breaking.
    It's cool that you installed it and everything, good luck :thumbsup:
    Lee.j

4. spongmonkey

spongmonkey IT Geek

well i've just tested it with a backup and it works! It didn't work the first time but on closer inspection the wire on point 6 had come loose. all screwed back together now.

I'm not sure how Nintendo could release an update to stop the chip working as it's pretty transparent in the way it works and bridges points on the DVD player, but I'm sure they can find a way (luckily the chip is flashable so the chip makers can work around any potential block)

5. gamer_of_life

gamer_of_life Banned