Wiikey fitted by total novice, wish me luck

spongmonkey

IT Geek
May 11, 2007
Little village in the UK
Hi all, i'm a new posted but have been lurking a researching for a while. I got my Wii just before Xmas and recently started to look into the Wiikey. Well i took the plunge and bought one, and all the soldering gear (I didn't know how to solder!)

Anyway, I've had 1.5 hrs practicing my soldering skills on really small contacts, well what I though were really small, and then I took my Wii apart and nearly died! Anyway I persevered and and fitted the chip just 10 minutes ago! I turned it on and it still plays my original Wiisports so that's a good sign, i'm burning the Wiikey setup disk to test the chip now :D

I think I am going to keep my wii mod-free. I dont want nintendo releasing an update that blocks the chip, I dont want to void the warranty and I dont want to risk my wii breaking.
It's cool that you installed it and everything, good luck :thumbsup:
Lee.j

well i've just tested it with a backup and it works! It didn't work the first time but on closer inspection the wire on point 6 had come loose. all screwed back together now.

I'm not sure how Nintendo could release an update to stop the chip working as it's pretty transparent in the way it works and bridges points on the DVD player, but I'm sure they can find a way (luckily the chip is flashable so the chip makers can work around any potential block)

Half Empty said:
I wish you luck, and I hope they don't make an update restricting mods.

They will, btw moding is 100% illegal in the US. Infact if wiichat admin get a hold of your IP, you could be fined.

rishi 20 said:
wasnt there a virus or brick u can get for doing that i heard it makes some update thats not compatible to the wii

That was for PAL Wiis trying to play backups of Super Paper Mario NTSC.